I just don’t get this fascination people have with awards shows. The Golden Globes, The Oscars, The People’s Choice, The Grammys, The American Music Awards, The M-fucking-tv Awards…all of them. One big boring vacuum of anti-entertainment when it comes to actually watching them.

It’s not that I don’t want to know who won the stupid award…and I’ll admit they are pretty stupid actually because they don’t really mean anything. Anything other than that the person getting the award can get/charge more money for their next job, that is. It’s more that the damn show itself is so ridiculous. Bad lip-synced group dance numbers inter-dispersed with bad jokes, some honorary “lifetime achievement” award…all for a big anticlimactic whoopdee-dingdong-day. Yeay. It’s all rigged and industry-political and often the ends are rarely justified by actual talent. Even when the winners of the award are actually worthy of it…it still usually was bought and paid for by agents and producers and publicists that schlepped their client to just the right people in just the right amount at just the right times and promised their first born pedigree pug to make it happen.

Not my cup o’tea, thank you very much. 

So, I will not be watching on the edge of my seat. I will be steering very clear of that channel. I will be watching some rather annoyingly edited film on the CBC or BBC instead. Because, even though watching a film with commercials sprinkled in at all the wrong places is annoying, it beats the hell out of watching  some dancing-in-the-fires-of-hell version of the gawd-awful songs written for whatever films were nominated, sung/danced by has-been talent or wanna-be talent…none of which has any talent really worth watching.

Pass the popcorn. I’m digging in.

© 2011 D. Kessler

