I’m wallowing in the loss of an amazing musician today. No, not Gerry Rafferty. No “Stuck in the Middle With You” going ’round my head. Puh-leez.

No. We have “Gentlemen Take Polaroids” in our head…and “Quiet Life“…and “Life in Tokyo“…and “When Love Walks In“…and “Dali’s Car“.

We mourn the passing of a gifted bassist, and influential composer, a bright shining light…Mick Karn.  Bassist  and collaborator for Japan, David Sylvian & Peter Murphy. He lost his battle with cancer today. He was only 52 years old.

I wrote this message today at his official site:

“So very sad to hear about Mick today. Too young. So gifted. I feel guilty I haven’t dug out my vinyl in ages…guilty that it takes such a tragic moment to get me off my ass and dust off those beloved albums.
Love the Light, Mick…How fantastic the Other Side must be.
Blessings…”

 

© 2011 D. Kessler

