I think the cold does something weird to my brain.  That and too much sleep, maybe.  I dunno, but when one wakes up with “The Politics of Dancing” in one’s head…and so one of the first things I have a craving for is to watch/see is this video on YouTube so that I can get the other out of my head:

…one’s gotta wonder what the hell is wrong with one.  I mean…”The Politics of Dancing”???  …the HORROR!

Outside it’s a balmy 29°F right now in the now-brittle Emerald City…21°F if you consider the wind-chill factor.  Let’s all go frolic in the now-frozen and no-longer-fluffy snow!  Whoo-hoo!

NOT.  This is the part of snow I do not like.  No sirree-bob.  The part where you *swoosh-CRACK!* fall on your ass when all you want is a little tid-bit from the corner store only half a block away.   My spouse has just pointed out that at least we’re not in Wisconsin where it is probably colder, but I just shot him down with the fact that, according to The Weather Channel, Sheboygan, WI, is currently twice as warm as we are right now…with a lovely not-frozen temp of 42°F!!  I mean, really…that’s just not right!

Okay, I’m sorry this is not some philosophical or scientific expose regarding the effects of exposure on brain activity.  Nor is it even a witty tirade about anything at all related to the aforementioned abundance of sleep.  It’s just a rant…a lame-ass rant about how I don’t care how pretty the snow is anymore and I want it to go away and I want to be able to turn my heat down ’cause I can’t afford my electric bill as it is and I’m tired of being holed up on my couch ’cause I don’t want to bundle up to walk the few blocks to a coffee-house for a change of scenery and I’m tired of it being dark at 4:30 pm.  I really hate winter and none of the many holidays…Christian, Pagan, Jewish or otherwise…or various other forcibly induced distractions like Christmas Shopping or Winterfest can change it.  I…hate…winter.  Never mind that it’s not even actually winter yet…that it doesn’t actually start for one week (yes, folks…Yule/Solstice is next Sunday).  It feels  like winter now.  It smells like winter now.  It’s dark  like winter now.  For all intents and purposes, it IS  winter now!  And I’m sick of it, I’ve had it, I want my Springtime and I want it NOW!

“But, Dy”, you say.  “Where’s the silver lining?  Where’s the up-turn ‘I’m thankful for…’ part of your post?”

Don’t got one today, sorry.  I’m NOT thankful for the cold. I’m NOT thankful for the ice and snow outside.  I’m NOT thankful that I think I may have contracted a sinus infection from somewhere…either that or I’m due for a root canal on my #15 molar (upper left), and I REEALLLY hope that’s not the case!…and it’s really making it hard to concentrate and keep from screaming and making me worry about Tuesday as my first day at work and…*sigh*

I think you get the picture.  

© 2008 D. Kessler

