So, I was scouring around the blogosphere, trying to come up with some ideas about what I am thankful for…you know, for the NaBlo topic this month.  Well, there are a lot of things out there to blather about, let me tell you. Oh, but you already know that, I’m sure.  I mean, if you’re like me and read other blogs and the news and the gossip and the…well, everything that is sustenance for the Cyber-Crack Addict…then it’s not a matter of finding something to write about, but rather to decide on the one thing to write about today, this very minute.  Maybe I’m just too ADHD to settle down to one topic, but it can be very hard for me sometimes to just tune out all the other things, or stop in the middle of a paragraph too look something up and quickly return to the task at hand, only to find out half an hour later that I am now reading something totally different than intended or logging on to one of my many favorite time-wasting sites that are the bane of my authoring existence.

Like just now.  Here I am, just typing away nothing in a probably transparent attempt at stalling.  I have to write, I even have an “assignment” of sorts (if you want to consider the NaBlo topic an assignment), but gosh darn it if I didn’t get up to reheat a slice of pizza and came back to my ‘puter to wait for it and here we go again.  I just pulled up Margaret and Helen to get caught up on the haps over there  (there was a troll invasion the other day…very disturbing, yet entertaining how it played out…) and…well, you can’t write anything really when you know that in two and a half minutes the toaster oven is going to pop and then you’re going to have to use your fingers for daintily shoving crusty carbs and gooey cheesey heaven between your lips and opening a coke and…well, not typing, right?  So, here it is half and hour later and I realize that I forgot all about my dinner and my unfinished blatherings and the open window with the rain outside (it is December in Seattle, after all) and  the meowling boy-cat outside and…well, just about everything. 

So, there I have it. My answer on what to write about today, this minute.  It isn’t a grand old thing such as world peace or a roof over my head or any “ta-dah!” epiphany .  Nope.  It’s just this:  I am thankful for Margaret and Helen, for Helen Philpot of Austin Texas, for her almost 83 years, her self-described “sailor mouth”, her breath of fresh air, her humor and her outrage.  She’s earned the right to say whatever she wants and boy am I glad she does!  And lately she’s gotten Margaret to post along with her, giving a kind of big-picture/home-front-picture format to the blog.  Margaret is incognito for a few days due to holiday travel, but I look forward to her return.  I gotta get my Gramma Helen and Aunt Margaret fix as often a they’ll post!

There.  That’s that.  And now I have slice of pizza and a coke to attend to, if you don’t mind…

© 2008 D. Kessler

