Okay.  I think anyone who’s been at all reading my blog just a little bit has figured out that this NaNoWriMo08 thing is not really happening the way I had planned.  I mean 5,548 words at T minus nine days is so-o-o not going to cut it, ya know?  The 50,000-word goal is just…yeah, I think you get the picture. 

However, in the spirit of Good Sports-Womanship, as well as the principle of Pigheaded Perseverance, I keep pluggin’ along.  Obviously the attempt on my part to make it bare-bones-bad-prose didn’t work out so well…I mean, I’ve added visual aids, for cryin’ out loud!  A waste of time in any nanowrimo rule book.  But don’t they look nice on the page? 

I think the emails sent to me by the NaNoWriMo Team that are meant to be encouraging have had actually an opposite effect. 

Go to a “write in”?  Puh-leese.  I write when I’m antisocial, and because I’m antisocial. It’s a way of getting all that stuff in my brain on the outside and visual without having to deal with others.  I’m not a joiner, period.  No pep club, no book club, no house meetings with roommates (hell, no roommates!), no AA/NA or other “Friends of Bill W” club (take your pick, America…there’s one for everyone!).  In fact, the only organization I belong to is the Democratic Party.  I don’t like talking with others about problems, solutions, ideas or whatnot…and I don’t want to really hear others talk about the same or, worse yet, how well they are doing. Sap and Ick.  If I’m going to leave my house for a social function, it had better have drinks and some loud music and an even louder bartender involved.  Hardly conducive to “write in” activity, ya think?

Other “advice” given in these pep-talk emails?

  1. “It’s okay to not know what you’re doing.”   Really?  Ya think?  Isn’t this the natural state of life as we know it?  Do any of us know what we’re really doing…ever?
  2. “The only bad plot move you can make…is lingering too long at your story’s crossroads…”  Um…okay…thanks.  I’ll keep that in mind…I guess.
  3. “Today’s tangents will become tomorrow’s arcs, and unforeseen connections will tie up your loose ends.”  Yeah…that’s kinda the idea, isn’t it?    I mean, we’re writing a STORY.  Are these guys coaching a high school freshman English class here? 
  4. “One cheater knows another….Stop using a new story idea to avoid the work you still have to do on your current work-in-progress!  Put the Shiny New Story away for later…”  Huh?! Okay, maybe I’m totally not as creative as I thought I was, but I just think I’m not as A.D.D. as the person that wrote this email. Another story…At the same time??
  5. And in reference to cranking out the word-count: “Write out the entire lyrics to American Pie, if you feel the need to…”  Okay. Nope. Sorry. No can do.  THAT‘s what I call cheating.  That’s not writing…not even bad writing.  It’s just…just…nope. Uh-uh.  If this is something condoned and even encouraged in this thing that I have signed up to be a part of, well I think I’ll just make myself apart from them and just plug away, slowly but surely, on my own at my little story and see what happens with it.  Maybe it won’t be a grand ol’ novel; maybe it will just be a long-ish short-story, or a short-ish novella. And the story itself will most definitely not be finished by the end of the month.

So.  There it is.  I’ll keep this NaNoWriMo fiasco going for November, but I’ll definitely still be writing the story after the end of the month. I guess I’ll have to think up some other titles to my installments posted here…maybe Not NoWriMo or some such.  Hmm…

© 2008 D. Kessler

